Thanksgiving Tournament


Click for video intruction on how to be an OCMC Tournament grader or proctor.

A fun and free math tournament for 3rd to 6th graders.  

The printable event flyer for the 2016 Thanksgiving Tournament can be found here.

Date and Location

  • Date: November 18th, 2017
  • Time: 12:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Location: Portola High School, Irvine CA
  • Google Directions



  • 12:30 - 1:00              Check-in
  • 1:00 - 1:10                Welcome
  • 1:10 - 2:25                Individual Round
  • 2:25 - 2:35                Break
  • 2:35 - 3:10                Team Round
  • 3:10 - 4:00                Activity Round
  • 4:00 - 4:30                Awards Ceremony



This event is free and open to students in grades 3-6. Both individuals and teams are accepted. 200 students will be accepted on a first-come, first-served basis. 

Event Information

  • The individual round consists of 4 sets of 8 problems each.
  • The team round consists of fewer but more challenging problems aimed at testing a student's depth in mathematics.
  • Teams consist of 6 people each. Participants can form teams beforehand, but they all need to be in the same grade. If participants do not have a team, they will be put into teams on the day of the tournament.


Toy Drive

OCMC not only strives to inspire young mathematicians, but it also provides some students with financial need with an interactive learning environment. (We also teach math in the Santa Ana Unified District to students who have the passion but lack the resources to become mathematicians.) It's the holiday season, and we would like children to have a warm and merry Christmas with presents. We encourage you to expand upon our cause and make a difference. All volunteers and participants, please consider bringing in a new, packaged, but unwrapped gift valued at $5-$20 to the Thanksgiving Tournament. Thank you for your donation! Your generosity will touch a child's heart this Christmas!



OCMC would like to thank St. Margaret's Episcopal School for its gracious support of the Thanksgiving Tournament.



If you have any questions about participating in this event or if you are a high school student interested in volunteering for the event, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Thank you for your interest!

This site is maintained by Sasha Kvitsinski and Jenny Choi 


Math for Service